Posted by: brian | January 1, 2009

R.I.P. Grim

A king among cats

A king among cats

Grim passed away tonight (Dec. 31st) around 9:30. He was an amazing animal, all warm love & affection, with just a smidge of attitude. He was part of my life for almost 14 years, and was almost old enough to vote. (I think he would’ve voted for a 3rd-party candidate, just to assert his independence.) I remember his ridiculously soft coat, his wonderful kitty toes, his soft, seldom-used meow, and his adorable kitten face.  I’ve heard stories about how he once sat in Dave’s shoe, or how Mel & Gretchen (I think?) were startled by a moving ottoman that was actually a cat. I’ll miss him terribly, as I miss his “brother” Grendel, who passed a few years ago (before I got all digital, which explains the lack of a photo for him – I’ll have to see what I can do about that). This is one of those times that I really wish I could believe in an afterlife, because I’d like to think that he’s met up with Grendel again, & they’re frolicking in a field of catnip.

Responses

  1. I came across your post and just wanted to say sorry that you cat died, it sucks to lose a pet; especially one you have had for many years.

    Happy New Year to you 😉

    ~ Mythos

  2. ^ “your cat died” ( Don’t you hate typos?? hehe )

  3. My condolences to you. That’s a hell of a way to start the new year…

    And now a moment of silence for the kitty comrade.


Leave a Reply

Categories

