Posted by: brian | January 28, 2009

My first (official) nudist event

Most of you probably know that I enjoy not wearing clothes – particularly outdoors in the summer. I finally decided to spend the $20 on a membership in Minnesota Naturists, and last Saturday I attended my first official nudist event. I’ve been naked in social settings before, but this time I was among strangers. I wasn’t nervous about the nudity, but I was nervous about meeting new people. As it happened, I needn’t have worried

The event was at a local racquetball center. Since it was my first time going there, I allowed extra travel time and arrived a bit early. I waited in the parking lot for others to show up, and saw a couple other people waiting in vehicles as well. I had the feeling that I was doing something illicit, that I was part of a small group gathering in secret to do something that society tells us not to do. It was a bit nerve-wracking, but exhilarating at the same time. I couldn’t wait to get inside and meet these new people. I’d already planned to join the organization that night (as opposed to simply “visit” for a “trial event”) – I had attended an informational meeting last fall, and had done loads of research on nudist etiquette and the “rules of the road,” so I had a general idea what to expect, and was ready to take the plunge. Also, if I paid my membership dues at the event, they’d waive the entry fee for the event, and who doesn’t like to save a few bucks now & then?

A few folks used the exercise equipment (a stationary bike, a treadmill, a couple other pieces) and one guy played handball for a few minutes in one of the courts, but people focused more on the hot tub, the sauna, and the food. This was the holiday celebration, which had been postponed from December due to bad weather. So most of the evening was spent near the table, which was piled high with salads and sandwiches. I had a chance to talk with several members, and they all were friendly and approachable. I wonder if being naked with all these strangers forced me to be more social?

I remember a lot of names and faces – not necessarily together, but that will come with time – and I’m looking forward to getting to know the group and participate in more events in the future. I’m particularly looking forward to the summer, when we can get back outdoors without bundling up under layers of clothing. There’s one guy who organizes hiking outings during the summer months, and some members hold events at their exurban homes. I can also visit Minnesota’s two naturist resorts, even though I’d have to get on the single-males waiting list if I wanted to join one of them.

The weird thing is, even with all the lakes in Minnesota, there is no legal nude beach in the entire state.


Responses

  1. “Victory should be naked!”
    ―Jocrassa Fel-Fotch Passameer-Day Slitheen

  2. [ Brock’s Charger crashes into the outside wall catapulting the nude, blood-soaked Sampson in through the bathroom window where he rolls to a crouch on the floor, bowie knife clenched in his teeth]
    Dean Venture: [pointing] Naked…

  3. Haha! I’d forgotten the line from DW! And that is one of my favorite scenes from Venture Bros.


Leave a comment

Categories